Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022

Telangana Elections Constituencies List 2018

Telangana will vote on December 7 in a single-phase poll to elect its new assembly and the results will be declared on December 11. While the Congress and the TDP have formed an alliance, which also comprises the CPI, to take on the ruling TRS, the BJP has decided to contest the polls alone to keep options open for the Lok Sabha polls and strengthen its organisation in the state. TRS chief and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao has been at loggerheads with TDP chief and his Andhra Pradesh counterpart N Chandrababu Naidu over several issues. Congress, on the other hand, launched a blistering attack on TRS for failing to deliver after forming the first government of Telangana. The southern state goes to polls after KCR dissolved the Assembly in September, nine months before its term expired. Carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014, the state elected its first assembly when KCR's TRS won 63 seats, beating Congress at 21 and BJP with five seats. The party’s rival, TDP, won 15 seats in Telangana, even as it swept Andhra Pradesh, where it won 103 of 175 seats.