Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022

Mizoram Elections Constituencies List 2018

Mizoram will vote on November 28 in a single-phase poll to elect its new assembly and the results will be declared on December 11. The Northeastern state has never seen a BJP government, and Congress Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has headed the state government since 2008. Mizoram is the only state under the Congress in the Northeast at present. In 2013, the Congress won 34 of the 40-member house with 44.6 per cent of votes, while the BJP did not win a single seat and just a meagre 0.37 per cent of votes. The Mizo National Front, a local party was the only Opposition and won five seats. The BJP has announced that it would do go solo in the polls while the Congress looks for a third consecutive term.