Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022

Chhattisgarh Elections Constituencies List 2018

Maoist-affected Chhattisgarh will go to polls in two phases to elect its new assembly and the results will be declared on December 11. While south Chhattisgarh will vote on November 12 for 18 seats, north Chhattisgarh will vote on November 20 for the remaining 72 seats. Chief Minister Raman Singh is looking for a fourth consecutive term as chief minister. while the Congress aims to ride an anti-incumbency wave to wrest Chhattisgarh from the BJP. In 2013, the difference between the votes polled by the BJP and Congress was marginal. While the BJP garnered 41.04 per cent of the total votes, the Congress polled 40.29 per cent. This translated into 49 of the 90-member assembly for the BJP and 39 seats for the Congress. The BSP, with which Congress hoped to form an alliance, has partnered with Ajit Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC). The BJP hopes to cash-in on the disarray in the Congress and CM Singh has recently focused on the Maoist-affected Bastar region where the party did not do well in the Lok Sabha polls. The Centre and the state government have initiated a series of development projects in this region.