Monday, November 29, 2021

Goa assembly elections: Congress declares first list of candidates, alliance with Goa Forward, NCP, Babush certain

The Congress Party appears to have worked out an alliance with Goa Forward, United Goans and NCP.

Written by Aaron Pereira | New Delhi |
January 12, 2017 1:42:52 pm
Goa elections, goa assembly elections, goa, goa polls, goa congress, goa congress candidates, goa congress elections, luizinho faleiro, digambar kamat, goa forward party, babush monserrate, news, goa news, goa election news, goa poll news Goa Congress president Luizinho Faleiro will contest from the Navelim seat.

After days of infighting and late night meetings over the possibility of an alliance with ‘like-minded’ parties – United Goans, Goa Forward and the NCP – the Congress Party has declared its first list of candidates comprising 27 candidates and an alliance between these parties is almost certain.

From the list declared, it appears that the alliance with former Congress MLA Babush Monserrate (United Goans) and the Goa Forward Party was certain, however the list features two seats and talks between the Congress high command and the state parties are underway.

Babush (Atanasio) had demanded that if an alliance were to happen, the Congress Party should not contest from the Panaji seat (where he will contest under the United Goans ticket) and that the party provide tickets to his aides in Taleigao, St Cruz and St Andre. The list features two of Babush’s candidates – Francisco Silveira in St Andre and Babush’s wife Jennifer Monserrate in Taleigao. His other demand that Cortalim be given to Ramakant Borkar seems to have been rejected by the Congress Party as it has fielded Gilbert Rodrigues. The seat of St Cruz does not feature in the first list.

Sardesai, on his part, demanded four seats – Fatorda, Siolim, Saligao and Velim. Three of these seats do not feature in the Congress Party’s list, while it has declared a candidate for the Velim seat (the party had indicated its reluctance to give up this seat). Sources in Goa Forward party told The Indian Express that talks between Sardesai and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi were still underway and a decision on the Velim seat was expected soon. “We have already begun campaigning in Velim, voter-cards have been issued. How can we withdraw now?”

The NCP’s demand to contest from Vasco where Jose Philip D’Souza will be fielded and Benaulim where former minister Churchill Alemao will be the candidate seems to have been accepted by the Congress high command.

Here is the first list as declared by the Congress Party

Mandrem-Dayanand Sopte
Pernem-Vikesh Hasotikar
Bicholim-Manohar Shirodkar
Tivim-Nilkant Halankar
Aldona-Amarnath Panajikar
Taleigao-Jennifer Monserrate
St Andre-Francisco Silveira
Sanquelim-Dharmesh Saglani
Poriem-Pratapsingh Rane
Valpoi-Vishwajeet Rane
Ponda-Ravi Naik
Siroda-Subhash Shirodkar
Marcaim-Urmila Naik
Mormugao-Sankalp Amonkar
Dabolim-Francisco Jose Nunes
Cortalim-Gilbert Rodrigues
Nuvem-Wilfred D’Sa
Curtorim-Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco
Margao-Digambar Kamat
Navelim-Luizinho Faleiro
Cuncolim-Clafacio Dias
Velim-Filipe Neri Rodrigues
Quepem-Chandrakant Kavalekar
Churchorem-Rosario Fernandes
Sanvordem-Shankar Kirlapalkar
Sanguem-Savitri Kawlekar
Canacona-Isidore Fernandes

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard