Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Chennai Open 2015 finalist Aljaz Bedene to compete in qualifiers

ATP released a field of 14 players who will be vying for the last four places up for grabs through the qualifiers.

By: PTI | Chennai |
December 14, 2016 5:47:16 pm
chennai open, chennai open 2017, chennai open tennis, tennis news, tennis Aljaz Bedene had reached the final of the Chennai Open in 2015. (Source: Reuters)

Britain’s 2015 Aircel Chennai Open finalist Aljaz Bedene and South Korea’s talented Chung Hyeon will compete in the qualifying rounds of the 22nd edition of the Aircel Chennai Open to be held in Chennai from January 2.

The ATP released a field of 14 players who will be vying for the last four places up for grabs through the tough grind of the qualifiers.

They include players from nine different countries, including from Canada, Russia, Austria and Slovakia. The lowest ranked player who made it into the official player acceptance list is Italy’s Matteo Donati, ranked as high as 207.

With India’s Saketh Myneni (ranked 194) being given a wild card, along with Ramkumar Ramanathan, Croatia’s Franko Skugor (World No. 216) sneaked into the draw.

The qualifying rounds will be held on December 31 and January 1 at the SDAT Tennis Stadium at Nungambakkam.

Croatia’s World No. 6 Marin Cilic will be the biggest draw at the tournament with World No. 14 Roberto Agut (Spain), No. 27 Albert Ramos-Vinolas (Spain), No. 35 Martin Klizan (Slovakia) and No. 48 Borna Coric (Croatia) being the other top players in the fray.

Former Top 10 players — Tommy Robredo (Spain) and Mikhail Youzhny (Russia) — will also be seen in action.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard