Tuesday, December 07, 2021

Anil Khanna declines All India Tennis Association chief post due to sports code controversy

All India Tennis Association will work without a head even as it made Anil Khanna honorary Life President.

By: PTI | New Delhi |
September 3, 2016 7:37:23 pm
Anil Khanna, All India Tennis Association, Anil Khanna president All India Tennis Association, AITA, tennis, tennis news, sports news, sports Anil Khanna had narrowly lost the ITF presidential elections but was elected as vice-president of the world governing body of the sport. (Source: PTI)

Anil Khanna was today re-elected as AITA President for a second term but the veteran sports administrator refused to take up the position unless the government resolves the contentious sports code issue.

All India Tennis Association (AITA) thus will work without a head even as it made Khanna honorary Life President and elected several new office-bearers at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Indore.

“It has been going on for the last two years. The AITA was first federation to follow the sports code and has requested the government to resolve the issue many times but nothing has been done. We want uniformity in all National Sports Federations (NSFs) as far as sports code is concerned,” Khanna said from Indore.

“It is very important for the growth of the game and the players to resolve this issue at the earliest,” Khanna said.

Under former Sports Minister Sarbanada Sonowal, the AITA was threatened with de-recognition if Khanna does not step down. Khanna had offered to step down after becoming ITF president but AITA Executive Committee refused his proposal and chose to fight with the government on the issue.

Khanna was was elected as AITA president for a four-year term (2012-2016) after serving as AITA secretary general for two consecutive terms.

The Sports Code requires a cooling off period of four years if an office-bearer seeks re-election after serving two consecutive terms.

AITA contends that Khanna did not seek re-election as secretary general but was elected as president in June 2012 and there were no instructions that a person, who has served as secretary general, cannot become president without serving cooling-off period.

Khanna had narrowly lost the ITF presidential elections but was elected as vice-president of the world governing body of the sport and was also included in the powerful board of directors.

Khanna will now be the third Hon. Life President as it already has two others — S M Krishna and Yashwant Sinha.

“Mr Khanna’s name had been proposed for unanimous election at the AGM by 23 affiliated units. Mr Khanna, however, declined to take up the position of President till such time that the matter relating to sports code is finally settled with consideration of Mudgal Committee Report and acceptance of the Age and Tenure Guidelines by IOA, IOC and ITF,” an AITA release said.

ITF, the world governing body allows three consecutive terms as President.

The rule states, “The President may be re-elected for two further terms of four years, so that the maximum period of service as President is twelve years. All service as President is counted. Term limits as a Board Member and as President are to be considered independently from each other.”

At its AGM, the AITA also elected 10 vice presidents, including yesteryears’ Bollywood personality Shatrughna Sinha.

Bengal Tennis Association president Hironmoy Chatterjee replaced Bharat Oza as the new secretary general while Oza is now one of the 10 vice presidents.

Former selection committee chairman Anil Dhupar is now one of the two joint secretaries along with Suman Kapur.

The following have been elected unanimously as the office bearers for the period 2016-2020:

Vice presidents: Aneil Mahajan, Bharat Oza, Chintan N Parikh, C S Sunder Raju, Maj Dalbir Singh, Deepender Hooda, M A Alagappan, Mrs. Praveen Mahajan, Rajan Kashyap, Shatrughan Sinha

Hon. Secretary General: Hironmoy Chatterjee.

Hon. Joint Secretaries: Suman Kapur, Anil Dhupar

Hon. Treasurer: Raktim Saikia

Executive Committee for the period 2016-2018: A B Prasad, Vikram Singh Sisodia, Ashok Kumar, Asit Tripathy, CBN Reddy, Murti Gupta, Dinesh Arora, T D Francis, Sunder Iyer, C P Kacker, Subhash Marriya, Noorudin Mather

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard