Friday, October 22, 2021

Pro Wrestling League: Mumbai register first win of second season

Mumbai Maharathi's registered their first win in their third tie of the second season beating UP Dangal 5-2.

By: PTI | New Delhi |
January 7, 2017 11:14:14 pm
wrestling, wrestling india, india wrestling, pro wrestling league, pwl, pwl 2, mumbai vs up, up dangal, wrestling news Mumbai captain Erica Wiebe (L) with cricketer and Mumbai co-owner Harbhajan Singh.

Defending champions Mumbai Maharathi defeated UP Dangal 5-2 on day six of the Pro Wrestling League Season 2 at the K D Jadhav Indoor Stadium in New Delhi on Saturday.

UP won the toss and blocked the 97 kg men’s category, staving off the threat of Pavlo Olinyk, whereas Mumbai decided to block the 53 kg women’s category, making Babita Kumari sit out for the tie.

The tie commenced with a dramatic opening bout fought between UP’s Amit Dhankar and Mumbai’s Pritam in the 70 kg men’s category. The more experienced Dhankar dominated the better part of the bout, however Pritam managed to stage a miraculous comeback to score three points in the last few seconds to register a victory. Mumbai prevailed in the first bout 3-3 by virtue of last point scored.

2016 Olympic medallists Maria Mamashuk from UP and Mumbai Captain Erica Wiebe fought the second bout of the
evening in the 75 kg women’s category. Erica used all her experience and agility to overpower Maria 4-0 as Mumbai took a 2-0 lead in the tie.

Mumbai continued their dominance in the game, with Colombian Carolina Castillo Hidalgo beating UP Captain and 2016 Olympics Bronze medalist Elitsa Yankova 4-1 in the 48 kg women’s category. Yankova had a tough time on the mat as Carolina kept attacking her, eventually managing a clear takedown to score decisive points. Carolina’s upset over Yankova meant Mumbai had a 3-0 lead in the tie.

UP Dangal made a fighting comeback in the fourth bout as Andrey Kviatkovski’s last point win over Mumbai Maharathi’s Vikas Kumar in the 65 kg Women kept the game alive for UP. Andrey displayed pure aggression in the bout, scoring a clear four points by taking down Vikas in the standing position.

Although Vikas tried every trick in his book, Andrey denied him the lead, exhibiting great defence and being quick on his feet. Eventually, the bout went in UP’s favour even as the scores were tied 4-4 on the basis of more technical points scored.

Mumbai responded strongly, as Sarita overwhelmed UP grappler Manisha 9-1 in a one-sided fifth bout. Manisha, who replaced Geeta Phogat in the tie, went down to Sarita in a crucial bout that witnessed the latter execute powerful tackles, taking down Manisha to score points rapidly. Mumbai clinched the bout and the tie as they gained an unassailable 4-1 lead.

Geeta Phogat was ruled out from participating in the 58 kg women’s category as she was suffering from high fever and had been advised by her doctor not to take part in the match.

2016 Olympics Bronze Medalist Jabrayil Hasanov from Mumbai exhibited his class and prevailed over UP’s Tariel Gaphrindashvili 3-1 in the 74 kg men’s bout, extending Mumbai’s lead by 5-1. Tariel, who was playing in his first bout of the season, struggled against the attacking manoeuvres of Hasanov, as UP was left with one final bout to salvage their pride.

The final bout was an action-packed performance by Indian wrestlers Amit Kumar Dahiya of UP and Rahul Aware of Mumbai. Even though UP gave away a point due to passivity, Amit ensured that their side did not go down yet again, scoring a couple of points towards the final moments of the bout to win 3-2. Mumbai Maharathi, however, emerged victorious as they won the tie 5-2.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.