Sunday, Nov 27, 2022

Anoop Singh, paralympics coach among others to be conferred with Dronacharya Award

The Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, are given to honour eminent coaches across the nation.

Wrestling coach Anoop Singh and Paralympics coach Naval Singh were among the five names officially approved by the Sports Ministry for the prestigious Dronacharya Awards this year.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, Anoop and Naval’s names were approved on the basis of current performance (2011-2014), while Nihar Amin (swimming), S R Singh (boxing) and Harbans Singh (athletics) were selected in the ‘Lifetime Achievement Category’ in which achievements over a period of 20 years is taken into account.


The Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, are given to honour eminent coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.

Subscriber Only Stories
JK Cement’s SPSU Udaipur Launches ‘Golden Batch 2022’ In Collaboration Wi...Premium
Appendicitis in Children- A new lifestyle disorderPremium
Using evidence will create strong foundations for the future of education...Premium
Re-Defining The Tradition In Folk Art: An Art Educator’s PerspectivePremium


Three-time national champion and international wrestler, Anoop has guided top grapplers such as Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Satyawart Kadian, Bajrang, Amit Dahiya, and around 58 wrestlers to achieve their dream.

Romeo James (hockey), Shiv Prakash Mishra (tennis) and TPP Nair’s (volleyball) names were approved for the Dhyan Chand Award.

Romeo James is a former India goalie and also took part in 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles where the Indian team finished fifth. He also coached the Indian team in 1994 Asian Games in Hiroshima and guided them to a silver.

Shiv Prakash Mishra, the former India Davis Cup captain was the first from Hyderabad to represent India at The Davis Cup but never got the recognition he deserved.


“It is a recognition. I feel satisfied. I was hoping to get the Arjuna Award during my playing days when India entered the Challenge round of the Davis Cup. When Anand Amritraj and Jaideep Mukerjea were given the award, I was ignored,” Mishra was quoted by The New Indian Express after he was recommended for the top award on August 20.

While TPP Nair, led the Indian volleyball team to a bronze in 1958 Tokyo Asian Games. He also won a silver at 1962 Jakarta Asian Games.

For Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, Directorate General of Military Training was selected in ‘identification and nurturing of budding/young talent’ category, while Coal India Limited has been nominated in ‘encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility’ category. Sports Coaching Foundation, Hyderabad has been in ‘sports for development’ category.


Dronacharya Awardees and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and award money of Rs 5 lakh each. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar awardees will receive certificates and trophies.

The awards are to be given away by the President Pranab Mukherjee on August 29, the National Sports Day.

(With PTI Inputs)

First published on: 25-08-2015 at 11:58:56 am
Next Story

I’m ‘getting used’ to Caitlyn Jenner: Scott Disick

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments