Saturday, October 23, 2021

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: UP post another win, Robin Uthappa scores 48 in Karnataka win

Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Mumbai register wins in their respective Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy contests.

By: PTI |
January 8, 2016 6:55:56 pm

Skipper Eklavya Dwivedi top-scored with a 53-ball 89 as Uttar Pradesh notched up a comfortable 57-run win over Services in the national T20 championship for Syed Mushtaq Trophy.

Sent into bat, Uttar Pradesh posted 182 for six in 20 overs at the Barabati Stadium, and then restricted Services to 125 for nine.

Dwivedi smashed eight boundaries and five sixes during his stay in the middle, besides putting on 109 runs for the third wicket with opener Prashant Gupta (43) in 12 overs.

Tare fifty leads Mumbai to 8-wicket win

Skipper Aditya Tare led from the front to crack an unbeaten 65 as Mumbai thrashed Maharashtra by eight wickets in the Group D Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Chasing 156 for a win at the DRIEMS Ground, Tangi, the Mumbai top-order came good and an unbeaten 83-run third-wicket stand between Tare and Siddhesh Lad (31 not out) helped the side achieve its target in 16.1 overs.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra 155/8 in 20 overs (Prayag Bhati 36, Nikhil Naik 31; Dhawal Kulkarni 2 28, Pravin Tambe 2-24). Mumbai 157/2 in 16.1 overs (Aditya Tare 65 not out, Shreyas Iyer 38; Satyajit Bachhav 1-20)

Karnataka beat Odisha by 6 wickets

Opener Robin Uthappa and Stuart Binny made short work of a modest chase to add to the team’s bowling effort as Karnataka outplayed Odisha by six wickets in the Group D Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

If medium-pacer Abhimanyu Mithun and leg-spinners Shreyas Gopal and KC Cariappa, sharing two wickets each, set up the win for Karnataka then the 53-run fourth-wicket partnership between Uthappa (48) and Binny (32 not out) helped the R Vinay Kumar-led side achieve the target in 17.5 overs.

Brief Scores: Odisha 102/7 in 20 overs (Abhishek Yadav 31, Biplab Samantray 19; Abhimanyu Mithun 2-13, Shreyas Gopal 2-15, KC Cariappa 2-14). Karnataka 106/4 in 17.5 overs (Robin Uthappa 48, Stuart Binny 32 not out; Tukuna Sahoo 2-17)

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.