Saturday, October 23, 2021

India clean sweep New Zealand, R Ashwin takes 13 wickets: Who said what on Twitter

India beat New Zealand by 321 runs in the third and final test to complete a 3-0 sweep in the series at Indore's Holkar Stadium.

By: Express Web Desk |
October 11, 2016 5:22:37 pm
India vs New Zealand, Ind vs Nz, ind vs nz 3rd test, ind beat Nz, Virat Kohli, Ashwin, R Ashwin, Ashwin wickets, India cricket, Cricket news, Cricket R Ashwin becomes the fastest bowler to clinch 220 Test wickets in 39 Test matches. (Source: Reuters)

India beat New Zealand by 321 runs in the third and the final Test to complete a 3-0 whitewash in the series in Indore on Tuesday. Virat Kohli-led side registered their second highest Test win as spinner Ravichandran Ashwin clinched seven wickets while Ravindra Jadeja dismissed opener Martin Guptill and James Neesham.

WATCH | BCCI vs Lodha: Supreme Court Dismisses Cricket Board’s Review Petition

Earlier, to start the day’s proceedings, Gautam Gambhir, who made his comeback, scored his 22nd half-century, while Cheteshwar Pujara had his moments as he scored his eighth Test ton and surpassed 350 runs in the series during his knock. Gambhir struck six fours while Pujara managed to hit nine fours in his innings of 101. The hosts declared their second innings on 216 for three.

New Zealand, who had more than a day left with them, lost wickets in quick successions. Ross Taylor (32), Martin Guptill (29) and skipper Kane Williamson (27) made starts but could not build substantial partnerships to take the match into the final day.

WATCH VIDEO: Want To Become A Member Of A Cricket Association? Become A Geek First!

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.