Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Ind vs Aus: Jasprit Bumrah replaces injured Mohammed Shami in India T20I squad

Jasprit Bumrah has been in wicket-taking mould for Gujarat, bagging 14 scalps in nine Syed Mushtaq Ali games.

By: PTI | Canberra |
January 18, 2016 4:57:13 pm
India vs Australia, Ind vs Aus, India Australia, India vs Australia 2016, Ind vs Aus 2016, India Australia series, india cricket, cricket india, australia vs india, aus vs ind, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, cricket news, cricket Jasprit Bumrah will leave for Australia on January 22. (Source: BCCI)

Gujarat medium-pacer Jasprit Bumrah was on Monday named as replacement for injured Mohammed Shami in the Twenty20 series against Australia starting January 26.

The 22-year-old youngster has been in wicket-taking mould for Gujarat, bagging 14 scalps in nine Syed Mushtaq Ali games.

Meanwhile, Shami, who came back from a long injury layoff, was ruled out of the Australia tour with a hamstring strain even before the start of the three-match series.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Jasprit Bumrah in the India T20I team as the replacement for Mohammed Shami, who has been ruled out due to injury. The Indian team is scheduled to play three Twenty20 matches starting January 26, 2016,” BCCI wrote in a media release.

Bumrah will leave for Australia on January 22 along with other T20I team members – Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra, Suresh Raina and Hardik Pandya, the release added.

Having already lost the ODI series to the hosts after three losses, India will look to bounce back in the T20s, which will act as a tune-up event for the World T20 starting March 8.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.