Saturday, January 29, 2022

Anurag Thakur set to be new BCCI president

All six East Zone associations, have decided Anurag Thakur is going to be the replacement of Shashank Manohar.

Written by Devendra Pandey | Mumbai |
May 18, 2016 1:29:06 am
Anurag Thakur, Thakur, Anurag Thakur BCCI, BCCI president, BCCI elections, BCCI SGM, BCCi president SGM, BCCI presidents Anurag Thakur is going to be elected unopposed as next BCCI president after Shashank Manohar stepped down last week. (Express photo by Kevin DSouza)

Anurag Thakur is all set to be Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) new president unopposed as all six East Zone associations have backed BJP’s Member of Parliament for Indian cricket’s top job.

Thakur was always front runner for the top post, after the resignation of Shashank Manohar, and all six associations including Cricket Association of Bengal, Jharkhand Cricket Association, Orissa Cricket Association, National Cricket Club of Kolkata, Assam Cricket Association and Tripura Cricket Association have nominated Thakur as their candidate.

The president of Assam Cricket Association Gautam Roy confirmed to The Indian Express that his association, and the five other East Zone associations, have decided Thakur to be replacement of Shashank Manohar. “All six association in East Zone has agreed to nominate Thakur for president post. We have sent out nomination form to him few days ago,” Roy said.

As per the BCCI’s bye laws, any candidate interested in contesting for the top post needs a proposer. A

BCCI by-election needs only one proposer from the zone which is electing the president and it was the East’s turn this time. However, with all six associations backing Thakur, who is also BCCI secretary, it is clear that Special General body meeting will be a low key affair.

Interestingly, last year too, Thakur was the choice for president’s post vacated by N Srinivasan but the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) president had to later be content with the secretary’s post.

“Thakur has been unanimous choice of all East Zone members, he has done a good job as a secretary. We all felt that he is right candidate for the post,” a East Zone association office-bearer said.

Meanwhile, Ajay Shirke is expected to be replace Thakur for secretary post. There were questions raised about his availability in India as the Maharashtra Cricket Association chief stays in London for six months every year but he will be back as BCCI office-bearer.

Shirke was treasurer during Srinivasan’s regime but resigned after spot fixing scandal broke out in 2013.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard