Friday, October 22, 2021

Haryana dominate qualifiers of Krishna Khaitan Memorial badminton tournament

With more than 1100 players competing in the first qualification rounds, the opening day saw more than 250 matches in the qualification.

By: Express News Service | Chandigarh |
October 11, 2016 1:07:44 am
smt krishna khaitan memorial badminton tournament, badminton tournament, smt krishna khaitan memorial, badminton tournament, chandigarh news, sports Shreyansh Jain in action during the 25th Smt. Krishna Khaitan Memorial All India Junior Ranking Prize Money Badminton Tournament. (Express Photo: Kamleshwar Singh)

Haryana completed their dominance as 35 players from the state stormed into the second qualifying round on the opening day of the 25th Smt. Krishna Khaitan Memorial All India Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament being played at Panjab University Badminton Courts and Sector 42 Sports Complex in Chandigarh.

With more than 1100 players competing in the first qualification rounds, the opening day saw more than 250 matches in the qualification rounds with 13 players each from Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra winning their first round matches and entering the second round. Arjun Mehta of Haryana gave Haryana its first win on the opening match of the championship when he eked out a 11-15, 15-13, 15-11 win over Atul Tamrakar of Chattisgarh in the boys’ singles U-17 category.

Mohit Rumar of Haryana edged past Parth Bansal of PNB with a 15-7, 15-10 win on the boys’ singles U-19 category while Shubham of Haryana had to fight his way hard to a tough 9-15, 15-8, 15-10 win over Manmohit Sandhu of PNB in the same category. Harsh continued the fine form of Haryana shuttlers as he ended the challenge of Raviranjan of Tamil Nadu with a 12-15, 15-11, 15-10 win while Sahil Gehlawat managed a 8-15, 15-7, 15-8 win over Sachin Joshi of Delhi. In the girls’ U-17 singles category, Avni Dhankar of Haryana had no difficulty in carving out a 15-7, 15-6 win over Aeshita Sharma of Delhi while her team-mate Rashi Vashisht too booked her spot in the second qualification round with a 15-6, 15-6 win over Karuna Jakhar of Rajasthan.

For Andhra Pradesh, Meghana Ganakala provided the first win of the tournament when she scored an easy 15-16, 15-11 win over Isha Singh of Haryana in the girls’ singles U-17 category apart from also securing a second qualification round spot in the girls U-19 singles category with a 15-3, 15-8 win over Nidhi Tambe of Maharashtra later in the day.

In the boys’ U-19 singles category, Prasanth K of Andhra Pradesh started his campaign with a 15-12, 15-12 win over Manas Bajaj of Madhya Pradesh while Chandraj Patnaik of Andhra Pradesh too booked his spot in the second round with a 15-13, 15-11 win over Sarthak Sharma of Haryana. For Maharashtra, it was Harshal Jadhav who set his campaign on right track by winning 12-15, 15-8, 15-8 against Advit Bhargava in the boys singles U-17 category.

Nidhi Tambe of Maharashtra edged past Aditi Aggarwal of Gujarat with a 8-15, 15-5, 15-13 win in the girls singles U-17 category before Shilpa Pusadkar booked her spot into the second round with a 15-11, 11-15, 15-8 win over Rageshri Garg of Uttrakhand. Ketki Navgire and Tapasya Langde of Maharashtra also won their respective matches to enter the second qualification round.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.