Follow Us:
Saturday, May 21, 2022

Rajya Sabha election: MJ Akbar, Anil Dave of BJP, Vivek Tankha of Congress win from Madhya Pradesh

Senior journalist M J Akbar and state BJP leader and strategist Dave polled 58 votes each, while Tankha secured 62 votes--57 from Congress, four from BSP and one independent, returning officer Bhagwandas Israni said.

By: PTI | Bhopal |
Updated: December 4, 2018 11:05:49 am
rajya sabha, rajya sabha polls, rajya sabha elections, madhya pradesh, madya pradesh rajya sabha election, MP rajya sabha elections, MJ Akbar, MJ AKbar rajya sabha, Vivek Tankha, vivek Tankha rajya sabha, india news, latest news Senior journalist M J Akbar and state BJP leader and strategist Dave polled 58 votes each, while Tankha secured 62 votes–57 from Congress. (Source: Express archive)

BJP candidates M J Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress’ Vivek Tankha on Saturday were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh, while an independent candidate backed by BJP was defeated.

BJP’s bid to spoil the Congress candidate’s chances by fielding BJP leader Vinod Gotia as an independent candidate did not bear fruit. Gotia got 50 votes–48 surplus votes of BJP and two independents–against the required 58.

Senior journalist M J Akbar and state BJP leader and strategist Dave polled 58 votes each, while Tankha secured 62 votes–57 from Congress, four from BSP and one independent, returning officer Bhagwandas Israni said.


Best of Express Premium

What makes KuCoin P2P Trading Platform a Good Choice To Buy Crypto?Premium
Airtel Demonstrates Immersive Video Entertainment On 5G; Recreates Kapi...Premium
Is It A Good Idea To Keep One Account For All Your Financial Transactions?Premium
Touching The Sky : SIMS, Pune Alumni On A Path To Make A DifferencePremium

Watch Video: What’s making news


BSP supremo Mayawati had issued a whip to its four MLAs to vote for Tankha.

The strength of Madhya Pradesh Assembly is 230. A total of 228 MLAs–164 of BJP, 57 of Congress, 4 of BSP and 3 independents–cast votes.

BJP MLA Rajendra Dadu died in a road accident on June 9, while the Supreme Court restrained another of its MLAs, Rajendra Meshram from voting following a petition.

BJP also threw its weight behind Gotia. To counter the move, senior Congress leaders Kamal Nath, Mohan Prakash, Sushil Kumar Shinde, AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh and former Union Minister Suresh Pachouri were camping here to keep the party’s flock together.

Latest Comment
View All Comments
Post Comment
Read Comments

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard

Featured Stories

When Reema Lagoo kept crying after Renuka Shahane's death scene in Hum Aa...
How Neena Gupta felt she 'lost respect' as a housewife, decided to return...
SC panel says book 10 cops for killing 4 accused in Hyderabad rape & murder
When Hema Malini was unsure about casting Shah Rukh Khan in his debut, as...
Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2 movie review: Tabu towers over everyone in this Kartik ...Premium