Follow Us:
Friday, May 27, 2022

Jagan-backed candidates win three out of nine AP Council seats

Congress lost three seats it currently held while Opposition TDP added two more to its tally.

Written by Agencies | Hyderabad |
March 23, 2011 11:55:59 am

In a setback to the ruling Congress,former party MP Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy’s candidates on Wednesday won three out of nine seats in the elections to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council.

The Independent candidates backed by him won the Local Authorities’ Constituencies (LAC) polls in Kadapa,Chittoor and West Godavari districts though the results are yet to be officially announced.

The margin of victory for Jagan’s candidates,though,was very slender in Chittoor and Kadapa — his home district — as they won by just one and nine votes respectively.

It was a personal setback to Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy as Congress lost the Council election in his

Best of Express Premium
What makes KuCoin P2P Trading Platform a Good Choice To Buy Crypto?Premium
Airtel Demonstrates Immersive Video Entertainment On 5G; Recreates Kapi...Premium
Is It A Good Idea To Keep One Account For All Your Financial Transactions?Premium
Touching The Sky : SIMS, Pune Alumni On A Path To Make A DifferencePremium

native Chittoor district.

A re-counting of votes was done in Chittoor as a Jagan group nominee secured a majority of just one vote. Initially,the Returning Officer Pradyumna rejected Congress’ demand for re-counting but later gave in reportedly after the chief minister brought pressure.

Even then the Jagan group candidate maintained the one vote lead. Overall,Congress lost three seats it currently held while main Opposition TDP added two more to its tally by winning three seats this time.

Congress contested eight seats,TDP seven and five from Jagan’s group. All won three seats each.

Kiran Kumar Reddy had claimed two days ago,immediately after the polling,that Congress would win six out of nine seats but the results proved otherwise.

TDP wrested the Anantapur LAC seat from Congress as former minister J C Diwakar Reddy’s supporters voted against the party. Diwakar had been sulking ever since he was denied a Cabinet berth in 2009.

The East Godavari LAC seat too went to TDP as Jagan’s group played spoilsport with the prospects of the Congress nominee.

Congress and TDP held one seat each in West Godavari previously but only the latter managed to retain its position.

Here,Jagan’s group defeated Congress to bag the second seat.

Following the drubbing,State Tourism Minister Vatti Vasantha Kumar reportedly offered to step down from the post owning “moral responsibility”. His fellow ministers,however,dissuaded Vatti from doing so.

In all,elections were held for nine seats in eight districts on March 21 and counting of votes was taken up this morning.

As per unofficial results available,Congress won three (Srikakulam,Kurnool and SPS Nellore),TDP three (Anantapur,West Godavari and East Godavari) while the Independent candidates supported by Jagan won in Kadapa,Chittoor and West Godavari.

The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen had already won the Hyderabad LAC seat unopposed.

Latest Comment
View All Comments
Post Comment
Read Comments

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard

Featured Stories

Shah Rukh Khan reveals wife Gauri Khan's rules inside their home Mannat: ...
IPL 2022 Qualifier 2, RR vs RCB Highlights: Jos Buttler's century carries...
Shah Rukh Khan says he has TVs worth Rs 30-40 lakh in Mannat, fan reacts,...
Tanuja says film industry now more 'corporate' instead of being a family:...
Two Cannes red carpet looks, one gorgeous Deepika Padukone. No surprise t...