Follow Us:
Thursday, May 26, 2022

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP gains edge in Upper House but still short of majority

If NDA fails to gain majority of votes, they would have to be dependent on regional parties to push for crucial legislations

By: PTI | New Delhi |
June 12, 2016 2:38:21 pm
BJP, RS, Rajya Sabha, Rajya Sabha polls, Rajya Sabha elections, Rajya Sabha seats, NDA, Rajya sabha members, rajya sabha news, elections news, india news, latest news Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, accompanied by party candidates M. Venakaiah Naidu and Om Mathur, Ramkumar Verma, Harshvardhan singh Dungarpur after their victory in Rajya Sabha elections in Jaipur on Saturday. (Source: PTI Photo)

The current round of Rajya Sabha biennial elections to 57 seats have given the ruling NDA an edge over opposition UPA, but it still lacks the majority it needs to push crucial legislations and may have to depend on regional parties who remain key players.

Regional players have 89 members. Their combined strength remains unaltered after the elections. The Samajwadi Party now has 19 members, with a gain of four seats, while JD-U and RJD have a combined strength of 12. The Trinamool Congress and AIADMK too have 12 members each, followed by BSP (6), CPI-M (8), BJD (7) and DMK (5).

After the elections, in the House of 245, the NDA has raised its tally by 5 and now has 74 members. The UPA, on the other hand has 71 members, with its tally down by three.


Best of Express Premium
What makes KuCoin P2P Trading Platform a Good Choice To Buy Crypto?Premium
Airtel Demonstrates Immersive Video Entertainment On 5G; Recreates Kapi...Premium
Is It A Good Idea To Keep One Account For All Your Financial Transactions?Premium
Touching The Sky : SIMS, Pune Alumni On A Path To Make A DifferencePremium

Watch Video: What’s making news


On June 3, 30 candidates were elected to the Upper House unopposed. The NDA then had managed to add 11 of its members (BJP 7, TDP 2, Shiv and Shiromani Akali Dal one each) in their Rajya Sabha tally.

The House also has 12 nominated members.

The UPA could send five members to the Upper House (Congress 4 and NCP 1) unopposed. The other parties — JD-U (2), RJD (2), AIADMK (4), DMK (2) and BJD (3) — were able to send 13 members to the Rajya Sabha unopposed.

In yesterday’s election held to the remaining 27 seats, BJP won 12 seats — two in Haryana, one in UP, four in Rajasthan, two in Madhya Pradesh, one in Karnataka and two in Jharkhand.

Congress, on the other hand, won six seats — one each in UP, MP and Uttarakhand and three in Karnataka.

Out of 11 seats in UP, the SP won seven seats, BSP 2, BJP and Congress one each.

In the Rajya Sabha bypoll necessitated following the demise of sitting Congress member Praveen Rashtrapal from Gujarat in May, BJP wrested the seat.

With regional players remaining crucial in passage of key legislations, government may now to seek their support to pass reform bills like GST.

Latest Comment
View All Comments
Post Comment
Read Comments

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard

Featured Stories

Shah Rukh Khan reveals wife Gauri Khan's rules inside their home Mannat: ...
'Rajiv Kapoor said I may be Raj Kapoor's son but I have nothing': Dalip T...
Shah Rukh Khan says he has TVs worth Rs 30-40 lakh in Mannat, fan reacts,...
Malaika Arora demonstrates three yoga asanas to reduce belly fat; watch
Sunil Dutt 'would feed and clean' Nargis: Daughter Namrata Dutt recalls h...
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by