Follow Us:
Sunday, July 03, 2022

Government announces recipients of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award

The Ministry of Science and Technology announced the award in various categories

By: PTI | New Delhi |
September 27, 2016 10:40:05 am

The government September 26 announced the recipients of the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for Science and Technology, but there is no woman in the coveted list of selected scientists.

The Ministry of Science and Technology announced the award in various categories.

Rishikesh Narayanan from Bengaluru-based Indian Institute of Science (IISc) and Suvendra Nath Bhattacharya from CSIR Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata have been awarded in the Biological Science category.

What else is in news

Subscriber Only Stories
Skin Allergies In Children – What parents need to know?Premium
What makes KuCoin P2P Trading Platform a Good Choice To Buy Crypto?Premium
Airtel Demonstrates Immersive Video Entertainment On 5G; Recreates Kapil ...Premium
Is It A Good Idea To Keep One Account For All Your Financial Transactions?Premium


Partha Sarthi Mukherjee bagged the award in the Chemical Sciences category while Sunil Kumar Singh in the Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category.

In Engineering Sciences category, Avinash Kumar Agarwal from IIT Kanpur and Venkata Narayana Padmanabhan of Microsoft Research India have bagged the award while Amlendu Krishna from Mumbai-based Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) and Naveen Garg from IIT Delhi have been selected in the Mathematical Sciences category.

Niyaz Ahmed A S has bagged the award in the Medical Science category.

Subramanian Anantha Ramakrishna from IIT Kanpur and Sudhir Kumar Vempati from IISc have jointly bagged the award in the Physical Sciences category.

The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Technology Award 2016 in the Life Sciences category was bagged by CSIR’s National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI) and Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow for development of herbal composition for management of diabetes.

The Dehradun-based CSIR-Indian Institute of Petroleum (IIO) bagged the CSIR Technology Award in the Physical Sciences and Engineering category for developing wax de-oiling technology and its commercialisation at Numaligarh refinery.

The Technology Award for “Innovation” went to CSIR’s National Aerospace Laboratories, Bengaluru for LED-based Drishti visibility measuring system. Drishti is a visibility measuring system installed at Indian airports to give information to pilots on the visibility at the runway for safe landing and take-off for airports.

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award is the most coveted award in multidisciplinary science in India. It was first awarded in 1958.

The award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.

For more news on education, click here

Hot Offer Putin claims victory in Mariupol, leaving Ukrainian defenders holed up Subscribe Now

📣 Join our Telegram channel ( The Indian Express ) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Education News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard

Featured Stories

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments