Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Telangana: 11 opposition MLAs suspended for day from the assembly

Legislative Affairs Minister T Harish Rao, who moved motion for suspension of the members, said the opposition members were indulging in unnecessary politics.

By: PTI | Hyderabad |
December 17, 2016 8:51:00 pm
Telangana, telangana assembly, telangana legislative assembly, telangana assembly members suspended, telangana MLAs suspended, Opposition MLAs suspended, india news, indian express news Telangana Legislative Assembly. (Source:

Eleven MLAs of the opposition Congress and TDP were on Saturday suspended from the Telangana Legislative Assembly after they vociferously demanded discussion on defection of opposition MLAs to the ruling TRS. The opposition MLAs were suspended as they shouted slogans and also entered the well of the House. Speaker S Madhusudanachary said the matter (defection of opposition MLAs to TRS) is under his consideration.

Watch What Else Is Making News:

Legislative Affairs Minister T Harish Rao, who moved motion for suspension of the members, said the opposition members were indulging in unnecessary politics on a matter that is under the consideration of the Speaker. He said the motion for suspension of the MLAs was moved to ensure that the Question Hour goes on smoothly.

The suspended members are D K Aruna, M Bhatti Vikramarka, T Jeevan Reddy, G Chinna Reddy, T Jeevan Reddy, N Padmavati Reddy, J Geeta Reddy, Rammohan Reddy and Vamsichand Reddy (all Congress) and A Revant Reddy and S Venkata Veeraiah (TDP).

Protesting against the suspension of his party colleagues, Leader of Opposition (Congress) K Jana Reddy staged a walk-out, after making a speech during a debate on power situation in the state. Criticising him, state IT and Industries Minister K T Rama Rao said it was not right for the opposition leader to walk out after attacking the government on power issue.

Congress adopted a “spit and run” policy both in Parliament and in the Assembly, Rama Rao said. Talking to reporters after suspension, Congress MLA M Bhatti Vikramarka said both the suspension and defection of opposition members to TRS were against the principles of democracy.

The ruling TRS MLA G Suneetha told reporters that Congress members tried to stall the proceedings as they did not want the “good work being done by the government to be discussed”. It was decided that debate on any issue would be taken up after the Question Hour, but Congress members tried to stall the proceedings, she said.

Congress and TDP adopted double standard on defection as opposition YSR Congress members had joined the ruling TDP in Andhra Pradesh, and opposition members were admitted into Congress when Y S Rajasekhara Reddy was Chief Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh, she pointed out.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Hyderabad News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard